CTO Forum 2017


Fostering Intrapreneurship: The New Competitive Edge?

26 October 2017, Empa Academy, Zurich, Switzerland

Rapid and cost effective innovation is the primary source of lasting competitive advantage in the 21st century.

Intrapreneurship is an increasingly used in the business world describing the integration of entrepreneurial skills into (large) corporations to nurture a climate of radical or incremental innovation. However,

  • How to fight potential inertia and how to help people to adapt to changes when they are used to a particular system
    How to support management and the organisational hierarchy to help them to successfully embrace the intrapreneurship shift
    How to make sure that costs of failure are minimised while the rewards of success are maximised

This CTO Forum will focus on the cultural aspects of intrapreneurship, after a workshop in June about the process and technic aspects. Petr Krupanský, Chief Innovation Engineer at ComAp and chairman of this workshop will give us a summary of the discussion and outcomes. 

PDF  Full Programme available here

Issues addressed

  • Can intrapreneurship be implemented into an organization or does it need room apart (separate organisation)?
  • How to create a climate where people have the opportunity to create new things?
  • How to tackle internal resistance from people and/or business units with their own objectives/agenda?
  • How can the CTO be a strong mentor to support intrapreneurial activities, removing obstacles and resistance?
  • Does an intrapreneurship approach need start-up coaches to foster people?
  • How much intrapreneurial culture can R&D bear?

The programme includes the dinner and the Award Ceremony of the “European CTO of the Year". 

Target Audience

Chief Technology Officers, Chief Scientists
This meeting is limited to 30 people.


Carlos Härtel, EIRMA Past President, CEO, GE Germany & Austria and Director GE Global Research Europe

To Register

PDF  Full Programme and Registration form available here

Accomodation: you need to make your own room reservation. The special EIRMA Group rate for the rooms is secured until 8 October 2017!  

PDF  Room reservation form

If you wish to participate to this event, please complete the registration form as soon as possible but certainly before 16 October 2017. 

In the case the paying entity has no VAT number, please indicate its Official Registration Number

Only e-mails related to this specific event will be sent to the adresses indicated.

A block booking with special rates have been secured in the Sorell Hotel Sonnental for the nights of 25 and 26 October 2017. The rate for a single room is CHF 117.50 (approx. €105.82) breakfast incl (excl city tax), for a double room CHF 200,00 (approx. €180.12) breakfast incl (excl city tax).
To book your room please complete the attached room registration form and sent it directly to the hotel preferably by 2 October2017 indicating the reference “reservation EIRMA 17102526 (Empa CTO)”

Event's fee: €275,00 (VAT excl for all members except Belgian) - €332,75 (VAT incl for Belgian members)

The meeting registration fee covers the administrative costs, refreshments, Award ceremony and dinner.
The lunch of 26 October is NOT foreseen in the fee.

We prefer payment by bank transfer but can also accept credit card (Visa, MasterCard or American Express). All delegates will receive confirmation letters, including an invoice or receipt as appropriate.

Account N° 363-1073576-20
ING – Rond Point Robert Schuman 8 – 1040 Brussels - Belgium
IBAN: BE28 3631 0735 7620 - BIC: BBRUBEBB

For payment by card, if not yet done, please communicate your card number, security code and expiry date to EIRMA in advance of the meeting.

For any further information, please contact Ms. Carine Ternest at EIRMA.
Tel.: +32 (0)2 233 11 81 - Fax.: +32 (0)2 231 08 35 - cternesteirma.org

Please give as much notice as possible if you are obliged to cancel. We will refund 50% of the registration fee for cancellation received 1 week before the meeting. 
Names may be substituted at any time without charge.

Specific diet, food allergies....


  • Dr Peter Alberius (RISE, Research Institutes of Sweden)
  • Prof Gian-Luca Bona (Empa)
  • Mr Michel Crispi (EIRMA)
  • Mr Lars Deppe (Schaeffler Technologies)
  • Ms Gabriele Dobenecker (Empa)
  • Mr Sebastien Equis (Nanolive SA)
  • Dr Francisco Faoro (StraumannGroup)
  • Dr Denis Goffaux (Umicore)
  • Mr Michael Gude (Unilever)
  • Dr Carlos Härtel (GE)
  • Ms Aurélie Jablonski (EIRMA)
  • Mr Daniel Michel Judkiewicz (Independent)
  • Dr Fumi Kitagawa (University of Edinburgh)
  • Dr Bernd Korves (Siemens)
  • Dr Petr Krupansky (ComAp a.s.)
  • Dr Henrik Oerskov Pedersen (Grundfos)
  • Dr Lisa Pollaro (Nanolive SA)
  • Ms Priscilla Rozé-Pagès (Air Liquide)
  • Prof Eyal Shimoni (Strauss Group)
  • Dr Dave Smith (Rolls-Royce)
  • Dr Michael Thiel (Nanoscribe GmbH)
  • Dr Henk van Houten (Philips)
  • Dr Daniel Witthaut (Evonik Industries AG)


Syndicate content

If you are an EIRMA member and have not logged on, please edit your profile above.

If you are not an EIRMA Member, the full information of this item, as the related Outcomes, are restricted to members only .


If you want to become an EIRMA Member, please click here.

Share best practices of industrial R&D and innovation and enjoy the experience of networking with your peers across different industrial sectors all over Europe!